Dispatches from Anarres

Forthcoming Oct. 2021

Named for the anarchist utopia in Ursula K. Le Guin’s science fiction classic The DispossessedDispatches from Anarres embodies the anarchic spirit of Portland, Oregon, Le Guin’s hometown, while paying tribute to her enduring vision.

Fonda Lee’s “Old Souls” explores the role of violence and redemption across time and space; Rachael K. Jones’s “The Night Bazaar for Women Turning into Reptiles” touches on gender oppression and a woman’s right to choose; Molly Gloss’s “Wenonah’s Gift” imagines coming-of-age in a post-collapse culture determined to avoid past wrongs; and Lidia Yuknavitch’s “Neuron” reveals that fairy tales may, in fact, be the best way to understand the paradoxes of science. Other contributors include Curtis Chen, Kesha Ajọsẹ-Fisher, Juhea Kim, Tina Connolly, David D. Levine, Leni Zumas, Rene Denfeld, and Michelle Ruiz Keil, with a foreword by David Naimon, co-author (with Le Guin) of Ursula K. Le Guin: Conversations on Writing. In stories that range from fantasy to sci fi to realism, some of Portland’s most vital voices have come together to celebrate Ursula K. Le Guin’s lasting legacy and influence on that most subversive of human faculties: the imagination.

About Susan DeFreitas

Susan DeFreitas is the author of the novel Hot Season, which won a Gold IPPY Award. Her work has been featured in the Writer’s Chronicle, the Huffington Post, the Utne ReaderStory magazine, Daily Science Fiction, Portland Monthly, and High Desert Journal, along with many other journals and anthologies. An American of Indo-Guyanese descent, she divides her time between Portland, Oregon, and Santa Fe, New Mexico, and has served as a freelance editor and book coach since 2009.

Full contributor list

TJ Acena
Kesha Ajọsẹ-Fisher
Stevan Allred
Jason Arias
Stewart C. Baker
Jonah Barrett
Curtis Chen
Tina Connolly
Mo Daviau
Rene Denfeld
Molly Gloss
Rachael K. Jones
Michelle Ruiz Keil
Juhea Kim
Jessie Kwak
Jason LaPier
Fonda Lee
David D. Levine
Gigi Little
Sonia Orin Lyris
Tracy Manaster
James Mapes
C.A. McDonald
David Naimon (foreword)
Tim O’Leary
Ben Parzybok
Nicole Rosevear
Arwen Spicer
Lidia Yuknavitch
Leni Zumas

%d bloggers like this: